46

Semrush Review: Most Powerful Keyword Research Tool (30 day free trial coupon)

Review of: SEMrush
Price:
$69/month

Reviewed by:
Rating:
5
On December 13, 2016
Last modified:June 6, 2017

Summary:

SEMrush is the best SEO tool out there. Check it out for free.

I have heard a lot about SEMRush tool which is said to be an SEO Keyword Research tool, but I never used it personally until the last year.

From the very beginning, I have been using Google Adwords Keyword Tool, which was perfect for my requirements. A year ago, I asked something advanced about keyword research to one of my SEO expert friends then he suggested me to check out SEMRush tool. As he is one of the SEO experts on my friends list, I took his suggestion seriously and gave a try to this tool.

 

The very first thing I came to know that SEMrush is not just an SEO keyword research tool rather it is a complete internet marketing tool for professionals.

You can consider SEMRush as a competitor keywords tool as well because it shows all the keywords of a given website. It also displays the search volume, competitor’s website position, and how much traffic is flowing from these keywords.

I have seeded copyblogger.com in the tool and look at the details it shows:

Looking at the above screenshot, don’t you think it shows enough info about your competitor’s website traffic and keyword details?

I think it is more than sufficient.

SEMRush has become a primary tool in my arsenal that I use as keyword spy, as SEO Keyword Generator, and as Competitor analysis tool. Without this awesome tool, Search Engine Optimization seems to be a tough task to carry out. SEMrush makes everything easier, and that’s why I am in love with it.

As I have been using SEMRush for more than a year, I thought to write something about it to show my gratitude to this great all-in-one tool. Here goes my review of SEMRush.

SEMRush Review:

 As Mentioned earlier in the post, SEMRush is an all-in-one internet marketing tool that helps you do competitor’s analysis, keyword research, Backlink analysis, site audit and even many more things.

SEMRush offers a lot of options, and if I start writing about all of them, I will end up writing 5000 words review. Thus, to keep things short, simple and straightforward I am highlighting only significant key features of this excellent tool:

  • Keyword Research
  • Competitor Analysis
  • Backlink Analysis
[yellowbox] Must Read: On-Page SEO Guide: Secret Techniques To Improve SEO Ranking  [/yellowbox]

Keyword Research

Keyword research is the prime feature of SEMRush, and that is why many people term it as SEO keyword generator. It generates a long list of keywords along with their CPC, search volume, Competition, How many results Google displays and other details.

So how to do Keyword Research with SEMrush?

Look at the screenshot below:

I fed a keyword “Online Money making” [Seed Keyword] and selected country is US (default). You can change the country as per your requirement before hitting on the SEARCH button.

You can see few statistics in front of you:

Organic Search: Under this, you can see the search volume and number of search results for this particular keyword in Google.com

Paid Search: Under this, you can see CPC and competition of this specific keyword.

CPC Distribution: You can see a graphical representation of the CPC of keyword provided (Seed keyword) as per the geographical locations, and that are sorted from higher to lower.

Phrase Match Keywords: You get a list of keywords that are having seed keywords within them which means the list of keywords that are in combination with Seed keyword.

Related Keywords: you get a list of keywords that are related to the seed keyword

Organic Search Results: SEMRush displays the search results when seed keyword is being searched over Google.

Ad copies: You can see the ad teasers that are being advertised on Google by some advertisers for this particular keyword.

Looking at the details mentioned above, things seem to be easier, isn’t it?

If you are researching keywords for SEO, then consider phrase match keywords and related keywords to make a final list of keywords to target.

All you have to do is to seed different keywords of your choice multiple times and then gather all of those which are having fair search volume and less competition. Then make a list of final keywords.

Doesn’t SEMrush make keyword research very easy? Sign up to SEMRush today to give your website’s SEO a boost in simpler steps.

Competitor Analysis

Competitor Analysis is my second most favourite feature of SEMrush. I have mentioned early as well that it can be termed as competitors’ keyword tool too. When you enter a website, SEMRush shows all the keywords with which that particular website is ranking on Google. The tool also shows the positions, search volume and competition that make it easier to understand which keywords are useful to target.

You must select those keywords that have high search volume and low competition. The best thing is that it also shows the exact page that is ranking with particular keywords.

I have entered Problogger.net in the tool and here is the list of keywords with all the details I have mentioned.

Every detail is important, but the ones I have marked with red arrow signs are the most important.

So how these data will help you?

First thing, this data gives you a deeper insight of a website so you can understand how they are optimizing their pages or blog posts for particular keywords. And the other thing; you get a list of good keywords with all the necessary details.

Now, you can learn a bit by going to those pages that are ranking for some keywords and see how they did optimization. And later, on the basis of this research and learning, you can optimize your website/blog as well.

Backlink Analysis

I fed problogger.net again in the tool and went on backlink tab which shows in the left pane. I clicked on overview which shows all the details such as, how many backlinks the website has in total, how many domains are linking and how many IPs are referring to it.  SEMRush also gives you an insight into how many dofollow and nofollow backlinks are there.

If you dig deeper into it, you will get to know each and every detail of a website’s backlink profile that is required while doing competitive research.

Reading this SEMrush review can make you realize that you cannot only term SEMrush as SEO Keyword research tool but competitors’ keywords tool, as well as backlink analysis tool too.

In this Review of SEMRush, I have covered few of its significant features as keyword research, competitive research, and backlink analysis. However these are not just enough, SEMRush can do even more about which I probably write in the second part of this review.

Final words!

SEMrush is a tool that should have in the arsenal of every internet marketing professional because without it; online marketing research is incomplete.

I have been using SEMRush for more than a year, and I know how many benefits I got from it. It helped me multiply my earnings by let me work in those areas where I could make a more profit. Just working was not enough to make great profits, but SEMrush made my working style smarter, and I am happily using it and recommend everyone to use it.

SEMRush tool is available to use for Free but like any other free tool there are some restrictions. Therefore, if you want to research beyond the limitations sign up for the Premium plan today and work in a smarter way. I hope you have enjoyed my Semrush review. Share your views in comments.

SEMrush is the best SEO tool out there. Check it out for free.

Show Comments

12 Comments

  1. Atish Ranjan May 25, 2015
  2. Mohit May 26, 2015
  3. Sarvesh May 30, 2015
  4. Samir June 8, 2015
  5. Tushar June 23, 2015
  6. priya June 24, 2015
  7. Kunal shah June 30, 2015
  8. Chitrapathi October 15, 2015
  9. Donna Merrill March 17, 2017
  10. Babette Brown May 20, 2017
  11. Vladimir May 20, 2017
  12. Janice Wald May 21, 2017

Leave a Reply